Roberta Flack - First Take (Ltd. Ed. Silver Vinyl)

Only 2 left in stock!
  • Ltd. Ed. Silver Vinyl
  • RELEASE DATE: 3/3/2023


Limited silver colored vinyl LP pressing. The breakthrough debut by the iconic mistress of pop, jazz, soul, R&B, blues is unparalleled in the years since in it's genre blending, emotional power, and raw impact. Recorded over 10 hours in 1969 during the turmoil of the late 60s in the wake of the assassination of Martin Luther King, and before the general realization of the cultural shift that would become embodied in Woodstock, First Take is the work of a woman who was known as a child prodigy and would later earn the title of genius. The album opens with "Compared To What," a politically charged track that pre-dated Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On" (an incredible cover of which was released digitally by Flack in 2021), an emotional cover of "Angelitos Negros," a definitive interpretation of Leonard Cohen's "Hey, That's No Way To Say Goodbye" and the generation-defining interpretation of "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face," First Take is a tour-de-force record that encapsulates the emotional rollercoaster of living in what a Confucian Curse might identify as "interesting times."

- Disc 1 -
1. Compared to What (2020 Remaster)
2. Angelitos Negros (2020 Remaster)
3. Our Ages or Our Hearts (2020 Remaster)
4. I Told Jesus (2020 Remaster)

- Disc 2 -
1. Hey, That's No Way to Say Goodbye (2020 Remaster)
2. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face (2020 Remaster)
3. Tryin' Times (2020 Remaster)
4. Ballad of the Sad Young Men (2020 Remaster)

Shipping Information

Our on-line store is open 24/7 and we ship Monday through Friday, excluding some holidays. Orders received for products without shipping restrictions on its product page will ship the same business day when received before 12:00 p.m. PST. Orders in high demand will have an estimated production time listed on its product page and will ship according to the date listed.

You may also like