Ray Charles - Ray Charles

  • Sale
  • Regular price $25.98

Wax Love present a reissue of Ray Charles's self-titled album, originally released in 1957. Perhaps the greatest crossover artist that ever was, it is impossible to overstate the impact that Ray Charles had on the evolution of both R&B and rock n' roll. Charles's distinctive style transcended genres and influenced musicians from every musical background and from every corner of the globe, but it was during the mid-fifties that Charles really began to rule the R&B charts. His legendary debut LP - originally released in 1957, and later renamed Hallelujah! I Love Her So for Atlantic (1969) - is essentially a collection of those hit singles. In 1955 Ray had his first number one hit, "I've Got A Woman", followed by his second and third number one hits, "A Fool For You" and "Drown In My Own Tears", over just the next few months. Almost all of the remaining tracks on the album were also top ten hits from that same period, including "Greenbacks", "Hallelujah I Love Her So", and "This Little Girl Of Mine". This was undoubtedly the era that defined the legend.


  1. Ain't That Love
  2. Drown in My Own Tears
  3. Come Back Baby
  4. Sinner's Prayer
  5. Funny (But I Still Love You)
  6. Losing Hand
  7. A Fool for You
  8. Hallelujah I Love Her So
  9. Mess Around
  10. This Little Girl of Mine
  11. Mary Ann
  12. Greenbacks
  13. Don't You Know
  14. I Got a Woman