Ray Charles - A Message From The People (140 Gram Vinyl)

Only 2 left in stock!

  • 140 Gram Vinyl
  • October 2022 Jazz Soul & Blues Record of the Month
  • RELEASE DATE: 6/24/2022


Vinyl LP pressing. Originally released in 1972, A Message From The People remains one of Charles' most celebrated albums, as well as the most socially-conscious work of his six decade career. The record directly confronts societal ills of poverty and injustice while offering a universal message of brotherhood and hope for peace; topics that are as relevant today as they were 50 years ago.   The album includes such classic tracks as "They'll Be No Peace On Earth Without All Men As One," "Abraham, Martin and John," the Gospel infused "Lift Every Voice and Sing" and "Heaven Help Us All. " The album also includes Ray's recording of "Hey Mister," which was played during a Congressional joint hearing in 1972 to speak on behalf of common citizens to a government that was widely seen as ignoring their needs. Perhaps the most impactful track on this album is Ray's iconic version of "America the Beautiful," which quickly became our second National Anthem and has inspired countless generations since it's release 50 years ago.


  • Lift Every Voice and Sing
  • Like I Gotta Do Wrong
  • Heaven Help Us All
  • There'll Be No Peace Without All Men As One
  • Hey Mister
  • What Have They Done to My Song Ma
  • Abraham Martin and John
  • Take Me Home Country Roads
  • Every Saturday Night
  • America the Beautiful
Shipping Information

Our on-line store is open 24/7 and we ship Monday through Friday, excluding some holidays. Orders received for products without shipping restrictions on its product page will ship the same business day when received before 12:00 p.m. PST. Orders in high demand will have an estimated production time listed on its product page and will ship according to the date listed.

You may also like