Laura Veirs - July Flame (180g)

This item is temporary out of stock

Laura Veirs seventh album July Flame, which Colin Meloy of the Decemberists calls 'the best album of 2010', explores the emotion of mid-summer. Drenched in wood smoke, sunlight, pollinators, pastoral dales, fireworks and warm nights, her lyrics explore the dichotomy between one's desire for permanence and security and the realization that such things rarely exist. Nowhere on the album is this inherent tension more crystallized than on the title track. The album breaks from Veirs previous full-band efforts, although many of the same players make appearances on the album, including longtime collaborators Karl Blau and Steve Moore. String arrangements are featured more on this album than on others; the brilliant improviser Eyvind Kang plays viola on many songs, and legendary arranger Stephen Barber composed hauntingly beautiful string quartet arrangements for three songs. July Flame is the sixth album that Laura and producer Tucker Martine have made together. Recorded and mixed at their home, the songwriting, arrangements, production and performances create a fully realized piece of art that inspires reflection and calm in a world that spins unsteady.


  1. I Can See Your Tracks
  2. July Flame
  3. Sun Is King
  4. Where Are You Driving?
  5. Life Is Good Blues
  6. Silo Song
  7. Little Deschutes
  8. Summer Is the Champion
  9. When You Give Your Heart
  10. Sleeper in the Valley
  11. Wide-Eyed, Legless
  12. Carol Kaye
  13. Make Something Good
Shipping Information

Our on-line store is open 24/7 and we ship Monday through Friday, excluding some holidays. Orders received for products without shipping restrictions on its product page will ship the same business day when received before 12:00 p.m. PST. Orders in high demand will have an estimated production time listed on its product page and will ship according to the date listed.

You may also like