Bob Dylan - Witmark Demos

This item is temporary out of stock

In the spring of 1962, folk music manager Albert Grossman began to take an active interest in Bob Dylan. He proposed that Dylan sign with the prestigious publisher M. Witmark & Sons. Dylan signed a contract with Witmark on July 12 and immediately recorded a demo of what would become his breakthrough song, "Blowin' in the Wind". Four months passed before Dylan returned to record another song, "Ye Playboys and Playgirls", but the next month, in December, he showed up with many new compositions, including three that would become classics of his, "A Hard Rain's a-Gonna Fall", "Ballad of Hollis Brown", and "Tomorrow Is a Long Time". All of Dylan's 1962 demos for Witmark are reproduced here on Wax Love.


- Disc 1 -
  1. Man on the Street (Fragment)
  2. Hard Times in New York Town
  3. Poor Boy Blues
  4. Ballad for a Friend
  5. Rambling, Gambling Willie
  6. Talking Bear Mountain Picnic Massacre Blues
  7. Standing on the Highway
  8. Man on the Street
  9. Blowin' in the Wind
  10. Long Ago, Far Away
- Disc 2 -
  1. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
  2. Tomorrow Is a Long Time
  3. The Death of Emmett Till
  4. Let Me Die in My Footsteps
  5. Ballad of Hollis Brown
  6. Quit Your Low Down Ways
  7. Baby, I'm in the Mood for You
Shipping Information

Our on-line store is open 24/7 and we ship Monday through Friday, excluding some holidays. Orders received for products without shipping restrictions on its product page will ship the same business day when received before 12:00 p.m. PST. Orders in high demand will have an estimated production time listed on its product page and will ship according to the date listed.

You may also like