Syl Johnson - Is It Because I'm Black

  • Sale
  • Regular price $24.98
Members Price: $22.48

  • 50th Anniversary Edition
  • Release Date: 5/3/2019

Coming hot on the heels of his first full length, the self-proclaimed "most sampled artist of all time" released the groundbreaking black concept LP Is It Because I'm Black a full 13 months before Marvin Gaye asked What's Going On? Rumbling hard past any notion of a sophomore jinx, Syl delivered a bracing, inspiring, and politically charged R&B document. "The 'lost' voice that cut the deepest, burned the hardest, and kept the best pace with the hall-of-famers." -Jonathan Lethem


  1. It Is Because I'm Black
  2. Come Together
  3. Together, Forever
  4. Concrete Reservation
  5. Black Balloons
  6. Walk a Mile in My Shoes
  7. I'm Talkin' 'Bout Freedom
  8. Right on